Writing Report! Writing Report!

Julie Vick
4 min readDec 27, 2020

My 2020 submitting and writing stats

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

[I am imagining the title being sung to the tunes of The Octonaut’s “Creature Report!” but if you have somehow not been watching this television show for children, I guess that won’t make sense.]

It’s that time of year again when I look back at my writing hits and misses for the year. I’ve been doing these roundups the past few years, and you can find last year’s report here. I think that if you accomplished any tiny goal in 2020 then you should count that as a huge win because it has definitely been a year.

Despite it being such a strange year, I did achieve one of my super long-term goals this year of signing a book contract. Did not exactly have writing said book during a global pandemic on my vision board, but I’ll take what I can get.

Because of the global pandemic and the fact that I shifted to focus on the book mid-year, I haven’t done as much freelancing or reading as I thought I might, but that’s okay. I still got some writing in and actually finished some things!

Here are pitching/submitting stats for 2020:

  • Number of pitches/submissions sent: 49
  • Number of rejections: 25
  • Number of non-responses (which is really just another type of rejection): 13

--

--

Julie Vick

Humor writer and snack-getter. Newsletter with funny stuff and writing tips at: https://julievick.substack.com/