My 2021 Writing Year Wrapped

It’s like Spotify wrapped, but with less music

Julie Vick
6 min readDec 23, 2021

--

Photo by Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

Time for the 2021 year-end writing wrap-up, which I have been doing for a few years now. You can find last year’s report here.

This year was a big year writing-wise for me because my first book came out. And because of the book, a lot of freelancing choices I made were in support of it and since I was trying to figure out how to help get the book into the world, I did not write as many freelance pieces as I may have liked. But I did get some done and here are the stats:

Freelancing report:

Here is a breakdown of some pitching stats for this year:

  • Pitches/Submissions sent: 37
  • Rejections (including some non-responses which I’m counting as rejections): 22
  • Acceptances: 12
  • Still out/waiting for responses: 3

So, it looks like my acceptance rate for the year is about 33% if I take out the ones I’m still waiting to hear back from, which is pretty good for me but as I’ve said before, it’s a little arbitrary because where I’m submitting matters as there are some places that are tougher than others to get into. I had set a goal to pitch 50 pieces which I did not meet! But turns out that…

--

--

Julie Vick

Humor writer and snack-getter. Newsletter with funny stuff and writing tips at: https://julievick.substack.com/